



AMC SEM is pleased to honor each Chapter Chair with possession of the SEM chapter vase, a beautiful rustic-looking carved wooden vase, emblazoned with the 'vintage' AMC logo.

The current chair keeps the vase throughout their term and then passes it on to the next Chapter Chair, on completion of their term, at the SEM Annual Meeting and Dinner.



How did the SEM Vase come about?

At the Chapter Chairs Retreat held at the Harriman Center in June 2023, attended by the Paul Brookes, SEM Chapter Chair (2023), and Jeannine Audet, SEM Vice Chair (2023), some of the Chairs of the other AMC Chapters shared that they had created something that served as a memento for their Chair over time. They passed this memento from Chair to Chair, as they served their term. Paul & Jeannine thought this was a wonderful way to honor the service of Chapter Chairs, and wanted to start this tradition for SEM.

Jeannine contacted Kevin Mulligan, an AMC member who has been creating wood artwork for the past several years, to see if he could make something for SEM. Kevin had a relationship with the arborists that trimmed trees twice a year at the Arnold Arboretum and carved the SEM vase from a piece of Chinese Elm harvested from the arboretum. Robin McIntyre, SEM Cape Hiking Chair (2024), put Jeannine in contact with Ellen Adamson, who added the forest green etching of the AMC logo to the vase. The wooden base with the engraved plate was made by Glass Graphics.

At the 2023 SEM Annual Meeting and Dinner, Jeannine Audet presented the Chapter Chairs Memento, for the first time, to Paul Brookes, the current chapter chair (2023). All the past chairs present were asked to come up and be part of the presentation.



Jeannine Audet (2025, 2026) Paul Brookes (2023, 2024) Diane Simms (2021, 2022) Len Ulbricht (2019, 2020) Barry Young (2017, 2018) Maureen Kelly (2015, 2016) Cheryl Lathrop (2013, 2014) Jim Plouffe (2011, 2012) Wayne Anderson (2009, 2010) Mike Woessner (2007, 2008) Laura Smeaton (2005, 2006) Bob Vogel (2004) Ann Chase (2002, 2003) Dexter Robinson (2000, 2001) Louise Desrochers (1998, 1999) Bruce Dunham (1995, 1996, 1997) Suzanne Scolamiero (1993, 1994) John Abbott (1991, 1992) Walter A. Morin (1989, 1990) Paul Murphy (1988) Linda Thomas (1986, 1987) Russell Ottey (1984, 1985) Vicki Fitzgerald (1982, 1983) John Abbott (1981?) **Robert Bentley** (1978, 1979, 1980, 1981?) Ralph W. Poole, Jr. (1976, 1977)